Congratulate Rejections!

Standard

     Is it a writer’s thing? Or is it me? I procrastinate on whatever I want most. To be published. To send out zillions of manuscripts to paying markets and once in  a while, be accepted. Even rejection would be better than not sending anything out at all.

     So why have I waited three years to begin submitting again?  I’ve thought about it often enough. I’ve picked up the Children’s Writer’s and Illustrator’s Market now and then, browsed through the net, scoping out anything to inspire me. 

     But now, thanks to the support of a great writing forum I belong to, I’m actually sending out manuscripts again. I’m up to four within a month and I’m ecstatic!

     If I’d sent these submissions out three years ago, I might have a picture book published by now. Or perhaps, at least have a nice note from a nice editor on a nice rejection slip telling me not to give up. Hey, that’s better than sitting on my hands and doing nothing, right?

     I haven’t even touched the tip of the ice berg when it comes to what many published authors have accomplished after dealing with rejection slips. 

 

  • J.K. Rowlings was rejected from 12 publishing houses before Harry Potter was accepted.

  • Judy Blume, who’s published a long list of children’s books, was rejected for two years before her first book was accepted.

  • The 1963 Newberry Medal winner, Wrinkle in Time, was rejected 26 times before it was accepted for publication.

  • Jack London received around 600 rejections before selling a single story.

     Hey, if they can do it, maybe I can, too. From now on, I’m going to congratulate myself for any rejection I receive because at least I’m not giving up.

     Excuse me while I send out another manuscript…

Leave a Reply

